1. What does international assignment mean?

1. What does international assignment mean?

International assignment
The term posting has its origin in German social security law. In abbreviated form, it means that an employer resident in Germany takes up employment in a country other than the Federal Republic of Germany in accordance with instructions within the framework of a domestic employment relationship. This activity is limited in time. In the case of a permanent employment abroad, one speaks of a transfer or a transfer to a foreign company, because the connection to the sending state is no longer expedient and appropriate.

In addition to secondment and transfer, there is also a colourful range of terms which have essentially arisen through the delimitation of different fixed-term periods. Whether this differentiation is appropriate in individual cases seems questionable. For the sake of completeness, however, it is briefly sketched out.

Business trip
Strictly speaking, the business trip is not an assignment. The original employment contract with the employee remains unchanged. He continues to have his main place of residence in Germany. This term is of a purely fiscal nature. A business trip can last up to a maximum of three months.

Deployment
The secondment is a short-term foreign assignment of three to twelve months. Because of the short-term foreign activities, additional remuneration components are mainly included in a delegation agreement. Domestic activities will continue to be the focus of attention.

Delegation
A delegation is when the employee spends a period of between twelve months and three years abroad. In this case, the employee's place of residence shifts to the country in which he or she is working. This results in further necessary regulations, which can be recorded in a separate contract.

Heuser News

Here you will find our latest releases for magazine and technical literature.

News Magazine

The trade magazine for international employment, legal management and taxes. Here you will always find current topics on the above-mentioned areas.

Specialist Literature

The work deals comprehensibly and systematically with the rules of labour, social security and tax law applicable to a foreign activity.

1. Was bedeutet Auslandsentsendung?

1. Was bedeutet Auslandsentsendung?

Entsendung
Der Begriff Entsendung hat seinen Ursprung im deutschen Sozialversicherungsrecht. Verkürzt dargestellt bedeutet er die weisungsgemäße Aufnahme einer Tätigkeit in einem anderen Land als der Bundesrepublik Deutschland für einen in Deutschland ansässigen Arbeitgeber im Rahmen eines inländischen Beschäftigungsverhältnisses. Diese Tätigkeit ist befristet. Im Fall einer unbefristeten Auslandstätigkeit spricht man von einer Versetzung oder einem Übertritt zu einer ausländischen Gesellschaft, weil die Anbindung an den Entsendungsstaat nicht mehr zweckmäßig und sachgerecht ist.

Neben Entsendung und Übertritt gibt es noch eine bunte Palette von Begriffen, die im Wesentlichen durch die Abgrenzung verschiedener Befristungszeiträume entstanden sind. Ob diese Differenzierung im Einzelfall zweckmäßig ist, erscheint fraglich. Der Vollständigkeit halber sei sie jedoch kurz skizziert.

Dienstreise
Die Dienstreise ist genau genommen keine Entsendung. Der ursprüngliche Anstellungsvertrag mit dem Mitarbeiter besteht unverändert fort. Er hat nach wie vor seinen Lebensmittelpunkt auch weiterhin im Inland. Dieser Begriff ist rein steuerrechtlicher Natur. Eine Dienstreise liegt maximal bis zu einem Zeitraum von drei Monaten vor.

Abordnung
Die Abordnung ist eine kurzfristige Auslandsentsendung von drei bis zwölf Monaten. Wegen der kurzfristigen Auslandstätigkeit werden hier im Wesentlichen zusätzliche Vergütungsbestandteile in einen Abordnungsvertrag aufgenommen. Der Lebensmittelpunkt bleibt weiterhin das Inland.

Delegation
Von einer Delegation spricht man dann, wenn der Mitarbeiter einen Zeitraum ab zwölf Monaten bis zu drei Jahren im Ausland verbringen wird. In diesem Fall verlagert sich sein Lebensmittelpunkt in den Tätigkeitsstaat. Daraus resultieren weitere notwendige Regelungen, die in einem gesonderten Vertrag erfasst werden können.

Heuser News

Hier finden Sie unsere neusten Releases für Magazin und Fachliteratur.

News Magazin

Das Fachmagazin für International Employment, Legal Management und Steuern. Hier finden Sie stets aktuelle Themen zu den oben genannten Bereichen.

Fachliteratur

Das Werk behandelt verständlich und systematisch die für eine Auslandstätigkeit geltenden Regeln im Arbeits-, Sozialversicherungs- und Steuerrecht.